Tuesday Tuneage: It’s a Holiday Playlist, Charlie Brown!

PC: Amazon.com

‘Tis the season to be jolly – and blast your favorite holiday tunes! This week’s special holiday edition of Tuesday Tuneage features some of my personal favorite songs of the season, some of which bring back very special memories. Listen in and include your own favorite tunes to make the ultimate Seasons Greetings playlist!

Be sure to subscribe to the Tuesday Tuneage playlist on Spotify – this is the last week of new additions to the first edition of the TT tracklist. The New Year will bring an all new playlist to check out!

1. “Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays” – NSYNC

It only makes sense to include this popular track from my childhood icons’ holiday album, “Home for Christmas.” To this day, I have many fond memories that involve listening to or singing songs from this album – playing a cassette tape (yes, cassette tape) of it while driving with my grandfather to my cousin’s soccer game, recognizing these Christmas standards as such upon hearing them in various outlet malls and television specials and realizing it’s not an NSYNC song, etc. This was my first (contemporary) taste of a lot of the most lauded holiday anthems – “The Christmas Song,” “O Holy Night,” “The First Noel,” etc. (But I still sing the Justin and Joey harmonies. It’s a habit. Some things never change…)

2. “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)” – Michael Buble

Buble’s album of holiday tunes is arguably my favorite Christmas record of all time, and this rendition of the soulful Darlene Love classic is my go-to December car jam. Track after track on this album shows off Buble’s impeccable vocal style and truly brings forth the seasonal mood for me year after year.

3. “O Holy Night” – Disney’s Candlelight Processional (Massed Choir)

One of my favorite experiences as a performer has been participating several times in Disney’s Candlelight Processional at Epcot, which invites high schools from around the country to sing classic and international holiday songs alongside professional vocalists and musicians. Talk about some truly beautiful music – and an absolutely amazing experience overall. Even seeing the show as a spectator this year (and singing along with all of my harmonies), I am still moved by the excellence of the performers and the message of holiday hope and love that the show presents.

4. “Do They Know It’s Christmas?” – Band Aid

A mid-80s staple in a vein similar to “We Are The World,” this song is always a sing-along for me and my mother. At a young age, I remember identifying who each hair-teased vocalist had each part – Simon Le Bon from Duran Duran, Sting from The Police, Boy George from Culture Club, Bono from U2 – it was like a memory game, a pop culture bonding experience between my favorite 80s maven and me. This song always brings a smile to my face.

5. “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” – Glee Cast version

The Blaine-Kurt (Darren Criss-Chris Colfer) duet of this holiday classic always stands out as one of the show’s best. Moreover, this is one of my favorite duets that I have sung with one of my best friends – years ago, in all of our high school show choir glory. The Glee parallels run thick here, people…

6. “Snow” – Irving Berlin’s “White Christmas”

This is a more recent addition to my Christmas playlist. Stumbling upon it one December day on Spotify, I immediately enjoyed the bright, cheery harmonies and jubilant vibe. Plus, I can totally relate to the lyrics – I really miss snow, okay?

7. “Jingle Bell Rock” – Bobby Helms

Talk about a holiday staple in the Holcomb House. We always hear this song during our annual family mini-golf session, we play it round the clock while wrapping gifts and decorating the tree, you name it. Plus, there’s a Mean Girls dance routine to it. Need I say more?

Video of the Week: The “Jingle Bell Rock” Dance from “Mean Girls”

I couldn’t not include this after mentioning it, you know? With all of the iterations of people doing this routine across the inter webs, I include this in the truest and most pure spirit of Christmas. Four for you, Glen Coco.

Tuesday Tuneage will return in 2016 with all-new tracks and videos for your listening pleasure. Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

