Tuesday (Well, Wednesday Tune-age): IT’S ALIVE!

Hello all,

This is a little late getting back on after my extended-extended break, but there’s just too many good tunes for me NOT to share with you! So let’s cut to the chase…here goes!

1. Alicia Keys – Girl On Fire
After her standout performance at the lackluster VMAs last week, this song has become a standard repeat for me (I’m sure my roommate is loving my repeated hairbrush-singing…). Obviously, this woman’s soul is practically unparalleled in music, and this song is certainly no exception.

2. Flyleaf – New Horizons
New image to complete the package, this track from the rockers is nice and fresh, a little more relaxed than their previous work (which had my 13-year-old self heavily engrossed in the “headbanging” phenomena). It’s nice to see a softer side to this group, especially when they adeptly hang on to their rock edge.

3. Imagine Dragons – Tiptoe
If you know me, you know that I have been talking about this band non-stop for a while now. Their full-length debut album “Night Visions” is a monster of a record (read my ROCK104.com review here). I cannot wait to hear this group live, especially this standout track.

4. Icona Pop – I Love It
This club-crazy beat is relentlessly catchy and my go-to workout song. Warning: there is some severe head bopping and chest thumping ahead, so brace yourselves.

5. Young Guns – Bones
These English rockers are an interesting combo that are undeniably rock n’ roll, but I can’t help but notice a bit of a pop-punk twinge here and there. Regardless, this song has a nice edge.

6. Walk The Moon – Next In Line
Everyone, and I mean everyone is falling in love with this band, and this song is proof of that appeal. Great beat, highlighting their indie feel, and just a good track to have in your head.

7. Muse – Madness
The hook in the beginning is absolutely entrancing and automatically overpowers any qualms that could be had with the slower, almost mediocre song (in comparison to their other material, which, I confess as an adamant fan, I adore). This will repeatedly get stuck in your head, I assure you.

8. Jessie Ware – Wildest Moments
Haunting and soulful, this is reminiscent of Florence + the Machine. It’s eerie yet hearty, and a great listen.

Video of the Week:
Green Day – Kill The DJ


Three new albums? Guys, that is a LOT of Green Day news for me to take in all at once! This song may not be an instant, anthemic classic, and the video starts out slow, but I kinda like this pop-infused sound they have going. Plus, it never hurts to have a zombified dance floor, right? Right.

Send in your thoughts, requests, and comments! See you hopefully next week!

Leave a Reply

